The Accidental Rubyist

invalid byte sequence in UTF-8

Getting postfix to use gmail as relay host

with 2 comments

Postfix seemingly comes with Mac OS X Leopard, ready to run out of the box. I have a laptop, and am not hosting a mail server. I have a dynamic IP which means gmail won’t accept my mails.
So “ditch postfix” is the first thought. I did, and wrote my own python script to replace mail/mailx for sending through multiple accounts.

However, most programs do still go thru postfix (even if I stop it). Tried mpack yesterday to send attachments, and that too bombed on postfix. The tutorials (on the net) to use postfix with gmail as a relay host (i.e., as your smtp provider/sender go into pages of installs.

To cut a long story short, I stumbled upon this tutorial while looking for something else. Within a few minutes, I had mails going thru my gmail account, using both mailx and mpack. Whee! And thanks, Paul for the excellent article.

[Edited in Vim using HTML.vim]

Written by totalrecall

August 23, 2008 at 11:43 am

Posted in being_geeky, unix

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. But you are lost in minutiae, barry. ,

    Arnold78

    October 23, 2009 at 3:37 am


Leave a Reply

