The Accidental Rubyist

invalid byte sequence in UTF-8

bash command-line tumblr client

with 12 comments

I’ve been looking for a command-line client for tumblr. I could only find a ruby one, and sadly it gave a trail of errors starting with:

F, [2009-12-28T18:34:18.630749 #75034] FATAL — : uninitialized constant Tumblr::Account::API (NameError)
/opt/local/lib/ruby1.9/gems/1.9.1/gems/tumblr-2.2.0/lib/tumblr.rb:43:in `block in ’
/opt/local/lib/ruby1.9/gems/1.9.1/gems/fattr-2.1.0/lib/fattr.rb:90:in `instance_eval’

Could be a version or dependency broken issue. Then I found a bash example, and had a bash script working in minutes that does posts, quotes, links, deleting, reading and editing. If anyone wants it, it’s here:

http://gist.github.com/267130

I’m still not clear what problem tumblr solves, that blogs or live-journal did not.
How is it different from blogging?

Written by totalrecall

January 1, 2010 at 8:44 pm

Posted in unix

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks for posting this. Haven’t tested it yet.

    Alec

    June 7, 2010 at 5:36 pm

  2. I never used LiveJournal, just blogs and wordpress. The tumblr “experience” is more about social blogging, people repost things like in twitter (or recently, wordpress), and mark favorites (again, in wordpress just recently).

    Also, they have wonderfull templates customized to every “type” of post (or object, as you are using Ruby), displaying not “everything-is-the-same-boring-thing”, but “every-type-shows-different”.

    I think that are the two advantages of tumblr over another blogs/µblogs platforms.

    Thanks for sharing the bash script for this. I’ll use to log the items shared by participants into IRC meetings, i’d like to write an IRC bot, but i have just a vague idea about programming.

    Jesús Franco

    November 10, 2010 at 3:22 pm

  3. Have you figured out how to post an image from your machine to tumblr using this script?

    first time bash

    September 3, 2011 at 9:36 am

  4. (regarding posting photos from command line) … No. I wrote to the tumblr guys several times, but got no reply. Finally gave up.

    totalrecall

    September 3, 2011 at 9:48 am

  5. I’ve managed to upload an image if I add the absolute path to “-F data = path to image”, but that kind of defeats the purpose.

    first time bash

    September 5, 2011 at 7:15 pm

  6. Man. I want a perl command-line uploader. Or just something that would run under windows; I can generate the script that calls it with my proprietary tags & captions with perl.

    Clint

    January 19, 2012 at 9:17 am

  7. Clint,
    tumblr has changed its authentication, so this no longer works.
    Not sure if there are any command line clients using perl or for windows, I am sure they are out there.
    Now i just use the email feature to post, it’s simplest, I am tired of struggling with changing APIs for these blogging and other social sites.

    totalrecall

    January 19, 2012 at 12:38 pm

  8. I know the feeling! At least Flickr never changed theirs! 🙂

    Clint

    January 19, 2012 at 12:44 pm

  9. Awesome, thanks for sharing this. I’ve been wanting a cli tumblr tool for like a year and if this works I will be very, very happy.

    I don’t think tumblr “solves a problem”, it’s just cool and easy to use. I believe it started out as a blogging platform for artists — centred on posting photos foremost and everything else a tag-on onto that. I know a lot of bands use it to make websites / post show dates / etc so it’s a decent CMS as well — but I don’t think that’s why it got popular.

    isomorphismes

    May 25, 2012 at 12:53 am

  10. Also, you guys might want to look into IFTTT … IFTTT will replicate content. For instance, I never got command-line tumblr uploading worked, but command-line flickr uploading has been a solved problem for me since 2005. So I simply set up an IFTTT task to copy all new flickr photos to my tumblr. Voila! I don’t even have to be alive! My house could burn down and it would still work!

    Clint

    May 25, 2012 at 12:57 am

  11. What’s IFTTT?

    isomorphismes

    June 6, 2012 at 11:02 pm

  12. Ifttt.com 🙂

    Clint

    June 7, 2012 at 12:25 am


Leave a Reply

