The Accidental Rubyist

invalid byte sequence in UTF-8

rbcurse tutorial

with 2 comments

Please see rbcurse tutorial on github for an updated tutorial for rbcurse-core.

WARNING / UPDATE: The tutorial on rubyforge is outdated, and i cannot scp into it any longer, so I cannot update it. I get a “Permission denied (publickey,gssapi-keyex,gssapi-with-mic)” message. I am going to create a github project for the tutorial. March 17, 2014.

I’ve begun working on a simple tutorial or getting started for rbcurse.
Of course, reading it is slow and I’d rather you just run the examples. and pick on and start taking from there. The good thing is that writing the tutorial is making me refresh my memory on many small details. Its also exposing silly little naming inconsistencies like display_length and maxlen for two properties.

However, just so no one says there’s no Getting Started or Tutorial, I think I should put one up there. The other good news is that I’ve released gem 1.1.1 finally. This is the 1.9 gem. The older 0.1.3 is the 1.8.7 gem.

Written by totalrecall

May 6, 2010 at 11:44 pm

Posted in ncurses, rbcurse, ruby

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hello! I am a bit confused. GEM says ncurses is installed, and it works in IRB, but calling (or even requiring) ncurses in an actualy RUBY (.rb) file and calling ruby causes a LoadError. Any help?

    Confused Rubyist

    June 21, 2010 at 7:56 am

  2. If ncurses is WORKING in irb, then maybe you have not ‘require rubygems’ in your program. Just wondering.

    If you have installed rbcurse, try a sample from the examples folder and see if that is working or not. try:

    ruby test2.rb

    If giving a load error then:

    What OS ? ruby version, ncurses version.

    Some of the ncurses versions don’t install, some install but give errors. You might remove ncurses, and then install an older version. 0.9.1.

    totalrecall

    June 21, 2010 at 9:48 am


Leave a comment